On NOW, NOW, LOUISON:

'Perhaps life, this life, any life, is best preserved in its many bits, just as it was lived', Harry Thorne, Frieze online, 3 August 2018
Louise Bourgeois as I knew her, Jean Frémon, Granta online, 31 May 2018

On TRANSLATION AS TRANSHUMANCE:

Times Literary Supplement's Books of the Year 2017
Excerpt introduced by Ros Schwartz, Wasafiri Issue 93, Spring 2018
Review by Professor Tim Connel, The Linguist, Feb. 2018
'Words That Speak of What Is Human'. Josh Cook, Los Angeles Review of Books, 31 Dec 2017
Charlotte Mandell in World Literature today, Jan. 2018
'For Gansel, language is tied to the land, and translation is impossible without a complete immersion into the culture that produced the text.' Eliza Ariadni Kalfa, Totally Dublin
'Fascinating insights into literary production, as well as Cold War-era Berlin, Vietnam-era Hanoi and a childhood spent growing up in the aftermath of WW2. Intriguing and, I think, important.' Scott Manley-Hadley, Triumph of the Now, 16 Dec 2017
'This is a small but richly rewarding book, packed with gems about the challenges and unexpected delights of translation, which will prove irresistible not only to translators but also to all those who have ever wondered just what is involved in translation. It is also a timely reminder that crossing borders is a human need and that however many barriers are erected to divide us, ways can be found to pierce them and understand our common human language.' Aneesa Abbas Higgins, Riveting Reviews, Eurolit Network, 13 Dec 2017
'Making ourselves herd', Amanda Hopkinson, Jewish Chronicle, 24 Nov. 2017
Bookwitty interview of Mireille Gansel about the publication of Translation as Transhumance.
‘[A]n extraordinary book, beautifully written and beautifully translated […] snapshots from a fascinating life blended with history, social commentary, travelogue and plenty of food for thought for translators.’ Sarah Pybus, ITI Bulletin, Nov 2017
‘Translation as Transhumance is a remarkable and illuminating memoir by French translator Mireille Gansel, faithfully rendered in English by Ros Schwartz. Sparse yet richly told, the memoir borrows from the form of the novella, depicting in an almost impressionistic manner Gansel’s evolving relationship with the act and art of translation. […] insightful reflections on translation, a process she views as both deeply poetical and alive with political potency. This is a book full of fascination and joy for anyone involved in or simply curious about translation. Beyond this, with its call to look beyond our own borders, it is a remarkably prescient book for our times.’ Annie Rutherford, The Skinny, 2 Nov 2017
‘If ethnology and poetry don’t speak to you, this will be lost in translation, but it’s worth it just to learn about Nelly Sachs and her poetry on the Shoah and Eugenie Goldstern’s documentation of language in the Alps.’ Buzz, Nov 2017
‘I loved this ... Gansel brings to life so well her world that of a translator, her reaching out and connecting to the writer’s reality […] I feel this is a must-read for any fan of translation and translators and maybe the start of a new trend in translator memoirs?’ Stu Allen, Winstonsdad, 28 Oct 2017
‘[A]n urgent, human work, blending together lived experience with insights so precise that they would make booklovers of all stripes gasp. The writing is often exquisite. Presenting her memories and the reflections they inspire […] Gansel (through Schwartz’s lens) has the knack of pulling us into a scene with a handful of words. […] we not only understand Gansel’s argument that human experience is encoded into words; we feel it too. […] Even innocuous-seeming words can, with a little probing, be made to bleed. […] Translation is an attempt to reach the language of the soul. It is an effort to communicate a work’s humanity. It is a ‘seismograph at the heart of time’. It is, as the title suggests, akin to the seasonal movement of flocks from pasture to pasture in search of nourishment. […] there will always be room for new publications of translators’ reflections on their craft. If only they could all be as powerful as this.’ Ann Morgan, A Year of Reading the World
‘[A] book which I loved. […] I love it because it appeals to the Romantic idea of the translator, the single figure swimming down into other worlds and coming back with her hands full of pearls, and I love it because it is unafraid to show that translation is a very personal act, connected to how we learn to speak, how we learn to fall into language, how our childhood and our families organise our responses and our lives in ways far beyond our awareness. […] it’s a wonderful book, and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in translation, or words, or other people.’ James Womack, 22 Sept 2017

On BLUE SELF-PORTRAIT:
'...a roller coaster, moving quickly from thought to thought', Bridey Heing, World Literature Today, July 2018
Muses explain things to me, Lindsay Gail Gibson, Public Books, 27 June 2018
Blue Self-Portrait by Noémi Lefebvre: Mental Flight, Katherine Beaman, Document, 14 May 2018
Takeoffs and Landings: Blue Self-Portrait by Noémi Lefebvre, Zack Ravas, ZYZZYVA, 1 May 2018
In Blue Self-Portrait Noémi Lefebvre created a space to breathe, Cody Delistraty, Commonplace Review, 19 April 2018
20 Books You Should Read This April, Emily Temple, Literary Hub, 2 April 2018
'This is a probing, wild, and fascinating novel', Publishers Weekly, 29 January 2018
'This is a sort of anti-sex and the city for the modern girl', Winstonsdad, 18 December 2017
That Kind of Girl, Jonathan Gibbs, Times Literary Supplement, 10 October 2017
The Blue Note: on Noémi Lefebvre's Blue Self-Portrait, Amanda DeMarco, Bomb, 17 August 2017
 Blue Self-Portrait by Noémi Lefebvre review – sex, art and neurosis, Eimear McBride, Guardian, 29 June 2017
'This is a somewhat difficult book to characterise', Rebecca Foster, Nudge Book, 10 June 2017
'Read something literary, something deep. Go go go', Scott Manley Hadley, Triumph of the Now, 2 June 2017

On EVE OUT OF HER RUINS:
Love and despair in paradise, Laura Farmer, The Gazette, 8 January 2017
'...a quietly harrowing portrait of the moral toxicity of groupthink, and the insidious banality of gendered violence', Houman Barekat, The New Internationalist, 2 October 2016
Eve out of Her Ruins - recommended by Adam Hocker, Albertine Books, 30 October 2016
Three Percent BTBA Favorites So Far Jennifer Croft, 27 October 2016
Growing up in Ananda Devi's novel about Mauritian teens, Matthew Adams, The National (Abu Dhabi Media), 13 October 2016
Teenage lust amid the tropical heat and dust, Deborah Smith, Guardian, 30 September 2016
Every Eve is born in writing, Anjuli Raza Kolb, Bookforum, 16 September 2016

On SUITE FOR BARBARA LODEN:
Booze, pathos, and passivity in Suite for Barbara Loden, Brandon Soderberg, City Paper, Baltimore, USA, 25 January 2017
Top 10 books about wild women, The Guardian, 11 January 2017
Staff Picks: Léger, Loving, LSDThe Paris Review, 11 November 2016
Barbara Loden: A Woman Telling Her Own Story Through That of Another Woman, Richard Brody, The New Yorker, 1 November 2016
New Books, Christine Smallwood, Harper's Magazine, October 2016
Cinema on the page: Suite for Barbara Loden, online exclusive by Jonathan Gibbs, The White Review, May 2016
inventive and affecting. It takes both the novel and the biography to new and interesting places, Eimear McBride, Guardian Books of the Year, 28 November 2015
Jonathan Gibbs’ Book of the Year, Tiny Camels, 8 December 2015
Review 31′s Best Novels of 2015, Dominic Jaeckle, Review 31, December 2015
Recently Read: Nathalie Léger & Roger Grenier, by Terry Pitts, Vertigo, 9 June 2015
Suite for Barbara Loden, by Amanda de Marco, The Rumpus, 2 June 2015
A Miniature Model of Modernity: Suite for Barbara Loden, Jenny McPhee, Bookslut, April 2015
Wanda: Book of the Film, Anna Goodall, Original Cine, 31 March 2015
Nathalie Léger’s Suite for Barbara Loden, K. Thomas Kahn, Music & Literature, 10 March 2015